Season of Waiting with Great Anticipation


images (2)I remember as a young child waiting for Santa and hoping for presents. The season leading up to the Christmas season was very exciting. It all changed when I had children of my own. During this season, I could not wait to see the excitement in my children’s eyes as they opened gifts with enthusiasm. I still love the holiday season. This season of waiting bubbling over with anticipation. Although I am excited about the holidays and thankful for our many blessings. I am even more excited for an email.

Oh, I get plenty of emails daily, but the email I cannot wait to see is the one that contains the edits to my novel. I sit here impatiently waiting for the fateful email to arrive. It is more exciting than anything Santa could put into my stocking. I cannot wait to jump back into the novel to polish and perfect it for you to read.

It is during this time, I feel like I am preparing a stage play. The script, actors, and audience are all preparing to work together to create a production. The script is going through the polishing process. To prepare the actors, I must learn how to act. Acting and public speaking lessons accomplished through Toastmasters. Toastmasters encourage its members to learn how to speak with confidence and professionalism. I will present my first speech in January. These speeches help me prepare me to actively talk about my platform and educate others about the Civil War. As I anxiously prepare my first speeches, I am verbally testing my written work. I found speeches are very challenging. Written work and verbal works sound different. Learning how to speak with animation in a speech is worlds apart from writing it into a scene.

Throughout all of this, I continue to market to get my name known. My author page needs a boost to reach more fans. We jumped out of the gate during the first month, but now I am working hard to keep a presence there. My blog is becoming harder to write, because I found I love talking about politics, but I do not want this blog to focus on this subject. I am contemplating using “Both sides of the story” theme on a different blog. Here I would go back to the beginning of US history and discuss the evolution of our politics. It would certainly involve research and an open mind. For now, I am tabling this idea, until edits are finished and my speeches are polished.

This time of year is full of anticipation. We anticipate seeing family and friends. We anticipate reliving the meaning of the season and its blessings in its most personal ways. This year I am anticipating all of this and so much more. They say hard work pays off. I anticipate good things for next year. I cannot wait to share a new year with all of you. I hope however you celebrate this season, it is full of everything you wish.

6 thoughts on “Season of Waiting with Great Anticipation

  1. You ain’t alone. Others struggle as you do.

    Best,

    S. Thomas Summers
    Pushcart Nominated Author of Private Hercules McGraw: Poems of the American Civil War

  2. Toastmasters is great and you will get over that “fear of speaking” to large group quickly. Let me know as soon as your book is out and available on Nook. I’d love to read it. Don’t blame you at all for being excited to look for that in your email. 😀

    • I will let you know as soon as the book comes out. I am not sure how I am going to sign your Nook? I will keep you updated on the Toastmaster’s journey. It is exciting for me because I love motivating people. A stage to myself and a captured audience… Things could get interesting:-)

  3. I am so excited for you! I read about your struggles with getting known and writing about what you want vs what you think the blog should be and I see so much of my feelings. Thanks for sharing and making me realize that what I feel is normal. May you and yours have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!

    • Thank you Christina. It is so easy to feel alone as a writer. I am grateful we share the same worries and ideas. It makes me feel normal too. It is an exciting journey and it feels better knowing there is someone going through the same experience as you. Merry Christmas and Blessed New Year to you and your family.

Comments are closed.