Blog Hop: Visiting Other’s Works


blog hopA blog hop is a way to visit other author blogs to see what they have been up too. Thank you Dora Drinovac (http://mysoulfragments.blogspot.com/ ) for tagging me. This post will tell you more about my upcoming book The Cause: Love & War due out Spring 2013. Be sure to visit all of the tagged authors to see their works in progress or recently published works.

Here are the questions Dora asked me to post about my book:

1.) What is the working title of the book?
The Cause: Love & War

2.) Where did the idea come from?
My love for history and the Civil war started to fuel this story, but it was a past life regression that put me in the middle of war-torn Gettysburg that gave me the feeling this story needed to be told.

3.) Which genre will your book be published?
Historical Fiction

4.) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Emilie Prescott –Emma Stone            Thaddeus Marsh- Robbie Arnell
Stephen Byrne- Freddie Stroma           Seth- Corbin Bleu

5.) What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?
Understanding an issue from both sides can leave you standing in the abyss of trying to decide where you belong.

6.) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Tate Publishing represents my book.

7.) How long did it take to write the first draft of your manuscript?
This project was a start/stop manuscript for many years. When Tate accepted the partial manuscript, it took 8 months to finish.

8.) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
The book closely resembles Michael Shaara and Jeff Shaara Civil War trilogy Gods & Generals and The Killer Angels and The Last Full Measure. He wrote about the personal side of the military generals who fought at Gettysburg. This story tells a similar story about how the civilians survived the battle of Gettysburg. The main characters are fiction but they interact with non-fiction civilians.

9.) Who or What inspired you to write this book.
The people of Gettysburg during the war inspired me to tell their story. It is a story about real life. I wanted to write about the civilian side of the war.

10.) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?
Most of the townspeople Emilie interacts with are real people of Gettysburg. I used their stories and diaries to re-create their characters as close to real as possible. We see Gettysburg through their eyes. I am thankful for my Gettysburg National Park Guide who helped me understand Gettysburg during these years.

Now it is your turn to check out the following authors. Some of these fellow bloggers have books they would love to share with you. Others in the list are blogs that are very interesting to read. Go check out these blogs.

1.) S. Thomas Summer  thelintinmypocket.wordpress.com
2.) Karen Kubicko          karenkubicko.wordpress.com
3.) Boomie Bol               boomiebol.wordpress.com
4.) Susan Kiernan-Lewis susankiernanlewis.com
5.) Kelihasablog             kelihasablog.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Blog Hop: Visiting Other’s Works

  1. Thanks Ellyn! I really can’t wait till your book comes out. Do you know if they will have a NOOK version by any chance? If not, I’ll still go buy it, but I LOVE my Nook.. LOL 😀

  2. Very fascinating, how you got to your subject matter…good luck with your book :))

  3. Thanks for the mention on this :). Will stop by the blogs you mentioned later today.

Comments are closed.